On March 3, 2013, Camden County police officers arrested 50-year-old Timothy Polijczuk after a deadly hit-and-run. Mr. Polijczuk was driving a blue Chevrolet truck with a refrigerator mounted to the bed when he struck and killed a 67-year woman as she crossed the street. Mr. Polijczuk claims he did not realize that he hit someone, so he fled the scene. According to New Jersey’s Motor Vehicle Commission, Mr. Polijczuk has an extensive driving record. Over the past 30 years, his license has been suspended 56 times, and he has received numerous speeding and careless driving violations, including 4 DUI charges. At the time of the unfortunate deadly hit-and-run, Mr. Polijczuk’s license had been suspended indefinitely. As a result, he has been held in jail with a $192,500 bond.
In New Jersey, a person is considered to be driving under the influence (DUI) if they have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or greater while operating a motor vehicle or boat. BAC may be tested with a simple Breathalyzer test. Being convicted of a DUI is a serious crime with numerous significant penalties. The penalties for a 2nd DWI/DUI conviction or subsequent conviction are much higher than for first offenders. Fines are increased and the mandatory jail sentence can be as high as 180 days. It is important to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney who specializes in DUI/DWI defense.
We are the Law Offices of Gregg A. Wisotsky, and we represent people throughout New Jersey who have received multiple DWI/DUI charges and have been elevated to repeat offender status. We understand the seriousness of a second or subsequent DWI offense, and take our job as your criminal defense lawyer seriously. You can count on us to aggressively protect your rights and fight to minimize the consequences as much as possible.
To schedule a free consultation, call the Law Offices of Gregg A. Wisotsky at 973-898-0161.