New Jersey 2nd & 3rd DUI Defense Lawyer
With Offices in Parsippany, Wayne & Basking Ridge
We are the Law Offices of Gregg A. Wisotsky, and we represent people throughout New Jersey who have received multiple DWI/DUI charges and have been elevated to repeat offender status. We understand the seriousness of a second or subsequent DWI offense, and take our job as your criminal defense lawyer seriously. You can count on us to aggressively protect your rights and fight to minimize the consequences as much as possible.
To schedule a free consultation, call the Law Offices of Gregg A. Wisotsky at 973-898-0161.
The penalties for a 2nd DWI/DUI conviction or subsequent conviction are much higher than for first offenders. Fines are increased and the mandatory jail sentence can be as high as 180 days. It is important to hire a an experienced criminal defense attorney who specializes in DUI/DWI defense.
New Jersey Second DUI/DWI Conviction Penalties
For a second offense, you will be fined $500 to $1000 and your driver’s license will be suspended for two years. You will be facing anywhere from 2 to 90 days in jail, and 30 days of community service.
You will be ordered to pay a $500-$1000 fine, including a $100 to the AERF and $75 to the SNSF. You will have to attend a program at an Intoxicated Driving Resource Center (IDRC) and pay the costs associated with the program. Additionally, the court will revoke your registration and license plates for two years, and will order the installation of an interlock device on any vehicle you own, lease or regularly operate during the suspension and for one to three years after your license suspension has ended.
Third DWI Charge Penalties for Repeat DUI/DWI Offenders
For a third or subsequent offense, you will be fined $1000. Your driver’s license will be suspended for 10 years. You will be ordered to spend at least 180 days in jail. (In certain situations, a judge may allow you to spend up to 90 days in an inpatient facility.)
Additionally, you will be ordered to pay a $1000 fine, including $100 to the AERF and $75 to the SNSF. You will have to attend a program at an Intoxicated Driving Resource Center (IDRC) and pay the attendant costs. Additionally, the court will either revoke your registration and license plates for 10 years, and may order the installation of an interlock device on any vehicle you own, lease or regularly operate for one to three years after your license suspension has ended.
Defending New Jersey DUI’s Since 1990
Do not face these charges on your own. With more than 20 years of criminal defense experience, we can help you obtain a favorable outcome by challenging everything from the traffic stop, to the administration of the blood or urine test, to the investigation following the arrest.
Contact us today to discuss your second DUI conviction or subsequent drunk driving offense case. With offices in Parsippany and Wayne, we take cases throughout North Jersey. We visit clients in jail when necessary.
We provide skilled DUI representation to people across New Jersey including Morris County, Passaic County & Somerset County. We have offices conveniently located in Parsippany, Wayne & Basking Ridge, New Jersey.