New Jersey DWI & DUI Defense
We represent men and women charged with DUI/DWI and other serious traffic charges. We also represent a significant number of out-of-state or out-of-country clients who have been charged with a DUI/DWI or other traffic violations while driving in New Jersey.
Our philosophy is simple: protect your rights no matter what. Whether this is your first charge for driving while intoxicated or you have multiple DWI charges, we put extensive time, resources and energy into obtaining the most favorable outcome possible.
Call Gregg A. Wisotsky, Esq. Partner, Javerbaum Wurgaft Hicks Kahn Wikstrom & Sinins, PC, immediately at 973-898-0161 for a free phone consultation. You can also call our office after hours or during weekends at 908-229-9714.
Protecting the Rights of NJ Residents Charged With DUI
An arrest for DUI / DWI involves serious motor vehicle charges. A conviction for DUI/DWI can result in a driver’s license suspension, loss of employment opportunities and incarceration. We provide an aggressive defense for all DUI/DWI charges. As your DUI defense attorneys, we will challenge everything, including the initial stop, the field sobriety tests, the Alcotest results, and any other potential issue which may affect Alcotest results and the ultimate outcome of your case.
New Jersey DUI & DWI Penalties
The penalties for DWI / DUI are serious. Besides the possibility of jail time, a fine and a motor vehicle conviction on your Department of Motor Vehicle record, there are other penalties that will be incurred. Penalties will be higher if you are under 21, if you were driving in a school zone, if you caused injury to a third party, or were driving with a suspended license.
New Jersey DWI First Offense Penalties
Generally, if this is your first offense, and your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .10 or higher or you were driving under the influence of drugs, you face a fine of $300 to $500, and a driver’s license suspension for seven to 12 months. You can be sentenced to jail for a first-time offense, but unless there are aggravating factors involved, you are unlikely to receive a jail sentence as a result of a first conviction.
If your BAC is between a .08 and .099, you will face a three-month driver’s license suspension.
You will have to attend a program at an Intoxicated Driving Resource Center (IDRC). These programs will last anywhere from 12 to 48 hours. IDRC costs for a first offense total $230. The court may order the installation of an interlock device on any vehicle you own, lease or regularly operate for six to 12 months after your license suspension has ended. Lastly, you will be forced to pay a surcharge of $1000 each year for three years following a DWI conviction.
These DUI / DWI penalties increase for second DWI offenses and subsequent offenses, including up to 180 days in jail and a $1000 fine.
Given the substantial penalties you face with a DWI, it is important to hire an attorney with the experience and ability to be a strong advocate for your rights.
Other Serious Traffic Charges
In addition to DUI / DWI and refusal-to-test charges, we also represent adults and juveniles charged with:
- Careless driving
- Reckless driving
- Driving with a suspended license
- Driving after revocation
- Boating while intoxicated
- Driving under the influence of drugs, narcotics or controlled substances
- DUI/DWI cases involving injury to a passenger or pedestrian
Have you been charged with drinking and driving? To speak with an experienced criminal law and DUI defense attorney about a drunk driving or serious traffic charge, contact us for assistance at one of our New Jersey locations.
We provide skilled representation to people charged with DUI across New Jersey including Morris County.