The Consequences of a Third DUI Conviction in New Jersey
The state of New Jersey takes a hard line when it comes to drinking and driving. If you have been convicted of driving under the influence a third time, here’s what you can expect at the time of sentencing:
- The mandatory loss of your driving privileges for up to 10 years. Judges have no discretion with respect to this provision. They cannot shorten the time and don’t have the option to allow for hardship or work release licenses.
- A jail term of up to six months (180 days)
- Fines of no more than $1,000
- A surcharge on your auto insurance premium for the next three years. For a third conviction, the annual surcharge is $1,500.
- Mandatory detention at an in-patient alcoholism treatment center, where you pay all costs associated with the program. Any time spent in such a facility (up to 90 days) can be credited against the 180-day jail term.
- A fee to be paid to the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- A requirement that an ignition interlock device be placed on your car for anywhere from one to three years. The ignition interlock has an alcohol detection device that requires that you blow into it before the car will start. If your blood alcohol is above the legal limit, the car will not operate.
If your driving privileges have been suspended as a result of third DUI conviction and you are pulled over for any reason, you can be charged with driving while suspended, a fourth-degree indictable offense.
Contact the law offices of Gregg A. Wisotsky, Esq., Partner, Javerbaum Wurgaft Hicks Kahn Wikstrom & Sinins, PC.
We offer a free phone consultation to every prospective client. For a complimentary evaluation of your case, contact our office online or call us at 973-898-0161. We will come to your home or the hospital to meet with you, if necessary. All major credit cards are accepted.
Leave a Reply