Your Right to File a Personal Injury Claim against the Government
In most instances, when you have been hurt in an accident because of the wrongful conduct of another party, it’s a relatively uncomplicated process to initiate and pursue legal action to recover damages. When the at-fault party is a government employee or agency, though, things are often not so simple.
In New Jersey, to bring legal action against the state or a local governmental worker or entity, you must follow the specific requirements of the New Jersey Tort Claims Act (NJTCA). When you file a claim under the NJTCA, you need to include the following information:
- Your name and address
- The date, location and any "other circumstances of the occurrence" that gave rise to the claim
- A general description of your losses, injuries and property damage
- The name(s) of the municipal or state employees who caused the loss or injury
- A statement of the amount of your losses
Note that you can recover compensation for pain and suffering, but you must show a “permanent loss of bodily function” or permanent dismemberment or disfigurement, with a minimum of $3,600 in medical expenses. It’s also important to understand that any damages covered by insurance will not be available in a claim under the NJTCA.
Unlike other types of personal injury claims, an action under the NJTCA must be filed within 90 days of the date of the accident. The state may then take up to 90 days to respond to your claim. A court may, upon request, grant an extension of the time to file for up to 12 months.
Contact Attorney Gregg A. Wisotsky—Partner at Javerbaum, Wurgaft Hicks Kahn Wikstrom & Sinins, PC
I offer a free phone consultation to every prospective client. For a complimentary evaluation of your case, contact my office online or call me at 973-241-7468. I will come to your home or the hospital to meet with you, if necessary. All major credit cards are accepted.